Fried Green Tomatoes

I’m in the midst of one of the laziest weeks I have had in a while. It has been the absolute best. Since Thanksgiving I have felt like I’ve been non-stop so to take these past few days for myself has been much needed, more so than I thought. Anyways, I have been spending my time meal prepping, wedding planning (getting addresses is exhausting!), watching movies, and I have even worked out a bit. Amazing, I know, I can’t believe I worked out either. My arms have been sore the past two days which is exactly what I need to change to feel a little better in my wedding dress!
So, today I watched the movie Fried Green Tomatoes, it was so good. I can’t believe I have lived my whole life without seeing this movie. It was so inspiring. A movie about strong women loving and encouraging each other was what I needed. I loved watching Kathy Bates character, Evelyn, grow through her relationship with Ninny and the stories she told of Idgie and Ruth. These girls were a wild pair that did what they wanted despite how society told them to live their lives at the time and they were so happy doing it. They had big hearts and deeply cared for the people around them and it came through in Ninny’s tales. I am not going to break down the whole movie, but after finishing it I feel happy and at ease. It seems slightly silly, but after watching Evelyn grow into her own powerful woman I feel like I can conquer anything as well. I’m neither ignored by my significant other nor afraid to speak out about what’s on my mind, but If Evelyn can learn to speak her mind and get her unhappy ass to a gym to take charge, then damn it, so can I! Every time I feel lazy or down on myself I’ll just have to channel my inner Towanda. Such a funny word can take up so much meaning. Watching Kathy Bates smash into the younger woman’s car screaming “Towanda!” was one of the funniest scenes I had watched in a long time.
My lazy week will soon come to a close tonight (what? But it’s only Friday?). I start work again tomorrow at 5 am and don’t have another day off until next Friday! Wish me luck; it’s hard to stay on track with my healthy eating when I work up and down hours all over the place. Hopefully all the meal prepping I did can keep me in line for the first few days or so. By the way, what is meal prepping anyway? I made a bunch of chicken that I put in a plastic container in my fridge, along with prepped veggies and spinach. Am I doing it right?

Towanda.

Leave a Reply

