I have been having the absolute strangest dreams lately. Insomnia has seemed to set in the past couple of weeks and once I fall asleep it seems as if I can’t relax, because REM Briana doesn’t want me to. Lately, I have been bored at work and complaining about things that don’t matter. I come home and talk about an endless amount of things that, in reality, don’t affect me. Last night I had a dream that I was in the bathroom at work and bats flew into my shirt and I couldn’t get rid of them. Then after walking up and falling asleep again, I had a dream that my father had died. I woke up crying and confused, because my family in the dream didn’t seem to care that this had happened. I was very worried for my dad which prompted me to look up what the death of my dad could possibly mean.

It turns out that having your dad die in your dream means that you possess qualities that you get from your dad that you may need to let go of. This is relevant in my life, because my inability to show affection to my husband is starting to affect us and I have been trying to let go of that. I am my father’s daughter, I inherit a sense of sarcasm and introversion from him that I have a hard time letting go of most of the time. Having a dream about a bat can often mean that you are holding on to something that is affecting you and you need to change the way you think about the situation, because it is out of your control and shouldn’t be affecting you. Considering the dream involving the bats took place at work, I took this as a huge slap in the face. Obviously, the universe is telling me to get over myself at work and accept what I can change and that shaping my attitude into a more positive one can help to better improve the things I can change.

I am not big on dream interpretation, but every once in a while I have a dream that speaks to me. Something inside told me to look it up and I am glad that I did. I gained a little bit of positive perspective on things that totally freaked me out before. Maybe I will apply some of the advice REM Briana was trying to give coherent Briana. Maybe I will also call my dad and tell him that I love him.

